Lunch on Friday…

Today we decided we’re sick of the food around Changi South, Bedok & Tampines. So we decided to head east to Katong, yes you are right, for the Famous Katong Laksa. I was told 49 Katong Laksa was the original stall many years back and since then, whenever I crave for laksa, i’ll head on down to 49 East Coast Road for the famous/original Katong Laksa. By the way, there are several stalls of Laksa along the same stretch. One notable one is the 328 East Coast Rd Laksa just across the road to 49. 328 Laksa seems to have more customers…don’t ask me why, I have not tried it either. For the benefit of our overseas friends, this is how Laksa looks like. laksa2_200It is made up of white floor noodles and a type of curry (consist of Laksa leave, coconut milk, shrimp) like gravy and top with cockles and prawns. This is one of the favorite dish among locals. You have to try this when you’re in Singapore. This dish can be found in many food centres in Singapore but not all come as close as the orginal in Katong Area.

Anyway, from the expressionless look on the faces of my colleagues, i can tell that they don’t find it exceptionally delicious as compared to the ones they might have tasted before. Hmmm….not my fault, I have been eating this since I was introduced to this stall years back :P

Anyway, after we had Laksa, we walk across the road to Katong Mall for dessert. This wasn’t as planned. We saw Awfully Chocolate on our way to Katong Laksa….so my boss excitedly proclaims that “we will come here for dessert”. In my mind, I was thinking…wow I love the banana chocolate cakes, good one! but I know I am also on a lose weight “dietry programme” and I can’t afford to over eat…at least not for lunch :P By the way, I seriously think their Banana Chocolate Cake is Heavenly! You must try it!!! 

As i walked towards the store, I find something amiss…I do not see any display of cakes! All I can see is a ice-creme fridge! Guess what….they do not sell cakes by the slice at this outlet!!! Wala!!!! I can huge disappointment all round. So we settled for Chocolate Ice-creme instead. 4 of us ordered a scoop each… the ice creme is so RICH! Simple and yet so yummy! Managed to take 2 shots of the ice-creme with my E71. Here is how it looks like….errr…enjoy :P

16012009118

16012009119

Verse for the Day

“Let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds. Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.” 
– Hebrews 10:24-25

Leave a comment